TOTAL NEWB CONSIDERING MR2 turbo

Discussion and technical advice the SW20 MR2. 3S-GTE, 3S-GE, 3S-FE etc
Anything and everything to do with maintenance, modifications and electrical is in here for the Mk2.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

sweep121

TOTAL NEWB CONSIDERING MR2 turbo

Post by sweep121 »

Hi I normally drive a fiat coupe 20vt, I got rid of it recently due to the engine completely mashing itself to pieces.

In less than 1 month(or if i see bargain on the century and am convinced by mr2s) I will be in the position to buy a new car.

At first I thought about just getting another coupe, but then I wondered about trying something different. GTO crossed my mind for a while then I thought about the mr2.

I really like the thought of it being rear wheel drive and mid engined. I like the looks of the car and the styling potential is huge.

The only major thing I am not fond of is the fact it's so antisocial with the 2 seats. If my mum didn't have a smart car then I don't think i'd be here asking you lot about whether or not to go for one.

Anyway. I would be really grateful if you could answer a few questions.

1 How much bhp does the mr2 have as standard?
2 Are they as reliable as most jap cars?
3 Why am I seeing so many 10 year old cars with less than 60k on clock?
How much bhp would a grand get me(say chip, exhaust, no cat)

4 I have seen a few for 2 - 3 grand, should I steer clear? Can they be that bad?

If you could give me some feedback on why I should choose the mr2 that would be great.

My coop had 217 at the wheels and I cuffed all scoobies and quite a few evos.

I've only been once to crail and I got 14 seconds up the quarter mile.

What I want is a car with some real potential as I just want to go faster and faster.