Question From Newbie Here

Discussion and technical advice for 84-89 AW10 & AW11 MR2. 3A-LU, 4A-GE, 4A-GZE.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

Drewski

Question From Newbie Here

Post by Drewski »

Hi everyone,

I've just picked up an MK1b that's been standing in the elements for a very long time...I estimate about 10 years. The body is better than I expected but before deciding to restore the car to its former glory, I want to make sure the engine isn't wrecked. Is there anything perculiar to the MR2 I should check before attempting to start up to prevent any further damage.

Many thanks, Drew.
LimeyMk1
IMOC Committee

Re: Question From Newbie Here

Post by LimeyMk1 »

I'd change the oil and put some fresh fuel & plugs in for starters, while the pugs are out crank the engine by hand (socket on the bolt for the crank pulley).

Alternator may well be seized up from being sat for so long. If you can loosen up the bolts for it and remove the belt then you can check it rotates, same for the water pump.

Distributor cap and rotor could probably do with a clean up (oxidised).

Don't be too surprised if things like the starter motor needs work as well.

Any signs of rust on the chassis rails?

Oh yeah belts will def need changing but there should be enough life left in them to see if the engine will run.
oukie
IMOC Organiser

Post by oukie »

These are known for the fuel pump to fail, if left in fuel for years, as the fuel go's off, I've had this with a barn find mk1, the fuel was utterly stinking. After eight years parked up. Tank and pump ruined. As the fuel had crystallized the insides.
Mk1b White T-bar SC 1987, Mk1b White coupe Jan90, Mk1b White coupe Jan90 (spares), Mk1b Mica blue T-bar Mar90, Mk1b Mica blue T-bar,full climate control,Jan90, 5 mk1's :)
PW@Woodsport

Post by PW@Woodsport »

Along with the above, the fuel will probably have clogged the filter and the injectors, it may not run even with clean fuel to the rail.