Radiator levels

Anything and everything to do with mechanical issues with your Mk2

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

D_Laverick

Radiator levels

Post by D_Laverick »

Hey everyone!

I'm a total MR2 newbie, and have just got myself a GTS Turbo - mucho fun!

I have a really stupid question, but how do I tell the level of coolant in the engine?
I received an 'engrish' handbook from the garage, but all it shows is what I presume is an expansion tank, that mine doesn't have...

If I dive into the engine bay, I can see a white plastic tank on the rear wall, and it has a cap, with a hose dangling into it - so coolant goes in there... but I can't see any Max or Min marks anywhere!

The garage I got it from were less than observant (no horn, earthing strap left hanging) so I'd like to double check everything myself.

Any help appreciated.

On a side note, I'm going to spend christmas installing a Mannix alarm & remote start kit - I'm quite at home with the wiring, but if anyone has fitted one and has any good tips, please shout up! :oops: :oops: :oops:
stevel

Re: Radiator levels

Post by stevel »

D_Laverick wrote:Hey everyone!
If I dive into the engine bay, I can see a white plastic tank on the rear wall, and it has a cap, with a hose dangling into it - so coolant goes in there... but I can't see any Max or Min marks anywhere!

Yep thats it. May need a torch to see the levels its not that clear, why toyota designed it this way is beyond me.
Swansea Jack

Post by Swansea Jack »