[Mk2] [Generic] Coolant bottle delete

Posts about anything do to with modifying your car such as fitting aftermarket parts, bodykit, or tuning the engine for more performance.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

Ryan S
IMOC Moderator

[Mk2] [Generic] Coolant bottle delete

Post by Ryan S »

So i want to completely do away with the coolant bottle. More accurately, I already have as that's where my catch can sits. Is it just a case of plugging up the overflow spout at the filler neck? Or is it absolutely necessary I have a coolant bottle?
Juliuswws

Re: [Mk2] [Generic] Coolant bottle delete

Post by Juliuswws »

Ryan S wrote:So i want to completely do away with the coolant bottle. More accurately, I already have as that's where my catch can sits. Is it just a case of plugging up the overflow spout at the filler neck? Or is it absolutely necessary I have a coolant bottle?

I'm no expert, but ~14 liters of coolant would expand a bit in volume when heated up from 0 (or ambient) to 80 degrees

I'd say you defo need a coolant bottle. Maybe not oem big, but at least a 0.5 liter one. Also, any slight coolant leak will lead to overheating pretty rapidly which could cause HG damage
Sbsoulby

Post by Sbsoulby »

Can't you increase the hose length to the bottle and put the bottle in the boot?
Rev 3 sw20 gts
Ryan S
IMOC Moderator

Post by Ryan S »

Yeah i actually thought about this. Having had a proper look into this tonight I think I'm deffo gonna need one :( Maybe some black pipe going to a small tank in the boot. Keep the hose subtle and the bottle out of sight.
Juliuswws

Post by Juliuswws »

Ryan S wrote:Yeah i actually thought about this. Having had a proper look into this tonight I think I'm deffo gonna need one :( Maybe some black pipe going to a small tank in the boot. Keep the hose subtle and the bottle out of sight.

If you do it this way, you would want to keep the hose as short as possible.