Help! Boost issues.

Discussion and technical advice the SW20 MR2. 3S-GTE, 3S-GE, 3S-FE etc
Anything and everything to do with maintenance, modifications and electrical is in here for the Mk2.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

Madabout

Help! Boost issues.

Post by Madabout »

I am after some help please guys.

I am still new to MR2s and been restoring back my red rev3 turbo. It's oddity is it's running a rev2 engine with upgrades but I'm under the inpresssion full rev3 engine management and fueling, etc.

Took out this morning and gave it a good drive. Felt pretty quick but randomly twice when giving it beans on boost it felt like it was stalling, lurched as it occurred. Lifted off and then it was fine. To be honest when it was going on full beans it felt pretty quick and I was surprised that the electronic boost controller setting was setting 1.

Got back and idle is all ok but lifted bonnet to find the dump valve pipe had fallen off so guessing the sudden hesitation must have been enough to loosen that. Also the plug onto air filter had the brown wire hanging loose (only black wire connected). Would this cause an issue? Photo below:

Any ideas what the brown wire missing would have? I've wired it back in but not driven since.

The car has a turbosmart electronic boost controller. When I tidied the car up I noticed the boost pipe was bent and wouldn't have been working right so maybe needs sorting. Could this cause any issues as I've left the boost controller in what I believe is low boost mode.

Got this red hose where the jubilee clip is missing but no ideas where it goes.

The fan lid kit is blowing the fuse - it's 30amp but guessing it's a bad earth as blown the 2nd I fitted.

Thanks in advance for help and advice.
tiff_lee

Re: Help! Boost issues.

Post by tiff_lee »

I'd trace that red hose back to be sure you're not drawing in air through it.