MK3 for daily driver and later as a racecar

The last incarnation of our beloved mr2..Discussion and technical advice for the ZZW30 MR2 Roadster (MR-S), & MR2 Spyder. 1ZZ-FE.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

gldrsh

MK3 for daily driver and later as a racecar

Post by gldrsh »

Hey folks

i just discovered that the MK3 is getting pretty cheap these days. Because of the huge tax on cars in my country (Denmark) its expensive to have a fun car.

But i was thinking about importing a MK3 from Germany. A year 2000 with about 200.000km for about €3200

I have been working on cars for 10 years so i have no problem during maintenance and other stuff. Have never been really deep into engine tuning, dissasembling etc.

But i though it could be nice to have the car for the summer and maybe next year turn it into a racecar for track use.

I have read alot about these 1zz engine failing due to oil loss.

But maybe i should just drive the car this summer and then look out for a 2zz engine to buy and swap into the car next year. I have my own garage with lift so it should'nt be a problem.

What do you guys think?

What year did the MK3 come with the 2zz engine or is it from another model? I read something about Corolla, Celica and Lotus.

I just dont want to spend alot of money on a car that have less mileage and better condition (no scratches on the bumbers, nicer interior etc), but still have the 1zz engine so its a bad engine to tune on for track use. If i want to use the car for track next year i will go strip the car anyway and put racing seats and roll cage in it.

Thank you guys.
tonigmr2
IMOC Committee

Re: MK3 for daily driver and later as a racecar

Post by tonigmr2 »

Get a post 03 car and your chance of engine failure will decrease significantly!

Having said that the 2zz is something I've seen several times as a conversion, I think there is even one in the for sale section...
gldrsh

Post by gldrsh »