Have video games lost their way?

Is the PS3 better than a C64, all in here

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

nakamura

Have video games lost their way?

Post by nakamura »

IMO video games have become very dull since the boom in sales and production. So many games are being produced that are just dull and samey, millions of FPS and dull racing games.

They just seem to have no new ideas anymore. :(

Original games like ICO, Shadow of the Colossus, Okami, Viewtiful Joe, Katamari Damacy, LocoRoco are just not being released in UK or made full stop.

Ive been playing games for over 20 years and i find the industry in a very sad state. Yes there are some great titles out there but very little to get really excited about. I havent even moved on from PS2 yet as the 360 and PS3 offer nothing extra to buy them for.

For instance Assasins Creed, what a completely average game and without the graphics it would be nothing yet it was the most hyped game this last year.

Its refreshing to see Super Mario Galaxy and Zelda Twighlight Princess as these are both games with outstanding gameplay and ideas within the games.

The focus now seems too much on simulation based games but surely isnt that the reason we play games,

to escape reality?

Discuss.
Negativvv

Re: Have video games lost their way?

Post by Negativvv »

Problem is innnovation is often overlooked or simply not understood by alot of the "mainstream". Look at films for instance, alot of the big money Hollywood films arent necessarily good to watch so its no different here.

Its because gaming has become mainstream so they need to make fancy hyped stuff to pull in the punters. Few people will have a knowledge of games from years back so they wont see or understand how generic alot of stuff is!

Assassins Creed was helped on by the fact a stunner of a girl produces it :wink:
matt_mr2t

Post by matt_mr2t »

Speak for yourself.

I've had more fun with my 360 than anything in the past.
H3RB