www.imoc.co.uk Forum Index
 AlbumAlbum CalendarCalendar FAQFAQ SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist Legal NoticeLegal Notice IMOC 1/4 Mile1/4 Mile Table Knowledge BaseKnowledge Base   RegisterRegister 
 GarageCommittee GarageGarage  SubscriptionPremium Membership  ProfileProfile   Log in to check private messagesLog in to check private messages   Log inLog in 
Calendar 
V6 Turbo
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic       www.imoc.co.uk Forum Index -> MR2 Engine Swaps
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Spidey




Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Posts: 1492
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Feedback Score: 3

1996 Toyota MR2 Mk2 NA Rev5

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 12:40 pm    Post subject: V6 Turbo Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

Apologies in advance if it's a silly question - but space aside, is it "much work" to turbocharge a V6 ?

Then, in the confines of the MR2 Mk2, is it possible to fit this in the engine bay ? with what modifications ?

TIA
Rob
Back to top
User is offline 
mishadbull




Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Posts: 520
Location: Leicester UK
Feedback Score: 11

1992 Toyota MR2 Mk2 Turbo Rev2

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

I remember seeing someone in the states (via the web) with a Mk2 with a 3.4 L v6 out of a Toyota Tacoma with a set of turbos on it. It was running too. Though the video I saw it still had not finalized exhaust and looked a bit tatty (red if i remember.) cant remember where those links have gone though. . .

Mike
Back to top
User is offline 
EarL
Premium Member



Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 6050

Feedback Score: 16



PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

mishadbull wrote:
I remember seeing someone in the states (via the web) with a Mk2 with a 3.4 L v6 out of a Toyota Tacoma with a set of turbos on it. It was running too. Though the video I saw it still had not finalized exhaust and looked a bit tatty (red if i remember.) cant remember where those links have gone though. . .

Mike

Yeah, I remember that one too. Looked like it was going to be a right monster! [Shocked]

Wonder if it ever got finished?

EarL.
_________________
Sable Grey 2004 MkIII Roadster

Once an MR2 owner, ALWAYS an MR2 owner!
Back to top
User is offline 
matt_mr2t




Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 27787
Location: Essex
Feedback Score: 4

2001 BMW 3 Series

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

I think supercharging would take up less space than a turbo?

Paul Wood is your man to speak to about V6 MR2's
Back to top
User is offline 
MRV6
Premium Member



Joined: 14 Dec 2004
Posts: 969
Location: North East of England
Feedback Score: 8

1994 Toyota MR2 Mk2 V6

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

Heres a clip of it in action, it's not the 3.4l though.

http://videos.streetfire.net/video/24635cc1-51e7-4b96-8d77-95daf550fb46.htm
Back to top
User is offline 
raptor95GTS




Joined: 14 Dec 2004
Posts: 6056
Location: glasgow
Feedback Score: 8

1995 Toyota MR2 Mk2 Turbo Rev3

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

search the mr2oc.com, user name node. He had a twin turbo setup but changed it for a single turbo. He also put a trd body kit on the red beastie too.

i believe he is building another turbo'd v6, unsure of details
Back to top
User is offline 
PW@Woodsport
IMOC Affiliated Company



Joined: 14 Dec 2004
Posts: 7592
Location: durham
Feedback Score: 30



PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

yep its entirely do able,the turbo gets remote mounted above the gearbox,actually a supra CT-26a is supposed to work well with the v6,plumbing is a bit of a mare and fancy IC pipes needed.....id probably stick a large IC in the boot.

SC takes up no extra space as it replaces the stock plenum but it cant be intercooled.
_________________
Back to top
User is offline 
foxy-stoat




Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 2071
Location: Hellingly, East Sussex
Feedback Score: 22

2007 BMW 3 Series

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

PW@Woodsport wrote:
yep its entirely do able,the turbo gets remote mounted above the gearbox,actually a supra CT-26a is supposed to work well with the v6,plumbing is a bit of a mare and fancy IC pipes needed.....id probably stick a large IC in the boot.

SC takes up no extra space as it replaces the stock plenum but it cant be intercooled.


mmmmmmmmmmmmust resist........................................sod it....how much finger in the air/ball park figures to turbo the v6?

[Rolling Eyes]
Back to top
User is offline 
PW@Woodsport
IMOC Affiliated Company



Joined: 14 Dec 2004
Posts: 7592
Location: durham
Feedback Score: 30



PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

not sure mate,fair bit of fab work involved....id have to look into that one and get back to you.
Back to top
User is offline 
foxy-stoat




Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 2071
Location: Hellingly, East Sussex
Feedback Score: 22

2007 BMW 3 Series

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

hmm, i bet !

no ruch, but that vid clip sounded jolly sweeeeet !
Back to top
User is offline 
raptor95GTS




Joined: 14 Dec 2004
Posts: 6056
Location: glasgow
Feedback Score: 8

1995 Toyota MR2 Mk2 Turbo Rev3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

node's website which has clips of the single and the twin turbo setup

http://www.v6mr2.com/media.html
Back to top
User is offline 
matt_mr2t




Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 27787
Location: Essex
Feedback Score: 4

2001 BMW 3 Series

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

I wonder why he thought, "I'm gonna stick a great big engine in there, work tirelessly to make it turbo charged but only put a CT26 which isnt even efficient on a 3sgte on it"
Back to top
User is offline 
PW@Woodsport
IMOC Affiliated Company



Joined: 14 Dec 2004
Posts: 7592
Location: durham
Feedback Score: 30



PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

its a ct26a as used on the 3.0ltr supra so its perfectly matched for the 3.0ltr v6.
Back to top
User is offline 
matt_mr2t




Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 27787
Location: Essex
Feedback Score: 4

2001 BMW 3 Series

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

That would explain it.

In my mind though something like that is barely worth doing unless your going for VERY high power. The 2.0 turbo can and will get bloody high power any way?
Back to top
User is offline 
PW@Woodsport
IMOC Affiliated Company



Joined: 14 Dec 2004
Posts: 7592
Location: durham
Feedback Score: 30



PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

you've obviously never been in a mk2 v6 then bud [Very Happy]

Its not about high power numbers,people go v6 for the driveability,the torque,the noise,the reliability,the lack of lag...the list goes on.

Totally agree with you,if you want big power stay with the 3s-gte and everything that comes with that.The v6 is just an entirely new way to do it without 3s-gte issues.

You also need to remember turboing the v6 isnt the same as a turbo on a 3s-gte,the v6 is a high compression engine so behaves differently with boost,no lag still just a mass of torque,downside being you cant apply as much boost as you can with a 3s-gte in stock v6 form.

Theres a mental FI'd V6 coming shortly out of woodsport that will blow you away though...cant say too much at present.
Back to top
User is offline 
matt_mr2t




Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 27787
Location: Essex
Feedback Score: 4

2001 BMW 3 Series

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

I can see the point in swapping a 2.0 n/a for a V6 n/a - more power, torque as you say no lag (although peak power is still not exactly "low")

But once you turbo the V6 even low compression it's still going to lack until on boost?

I have to confess the only V6 I ever drove was an MG thing with a 2.5 V6 and it was crap lol. But that was after getting out of my tubby.
Back to top
User is offline 
PW@Woodsport
IMOC Affiliated Company



Joined: 14 Dec 2004
Posts: 7592
Location: durham
Feedback Score: 30



PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

Quote:
But once you turbo the V6 even low compression it's still going to lack until on boost?


why would it lack until boost came in? you still have the power you had before in NA form only with much more torque throughout the revs by adding a turbo.

This is one of the reasons people go v6,to get rid of that "lacking" period before boost comes in with the 3s-gte.
Back to top
User is offline 
Peter Gidden - SBITS
IMOC Affiliated Company



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10497
Location: South Yorkshire - 07710 648257
Feedback Score: 18

2002 Noble M500

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

PW@Woodsport wrote:
Quote:
But once you turbo the V6 even low compression it's still going to lack until on boost?


why would it lack until boost came in? you still have the power you had before in NA form only with much more torque throughout the revs by adding a turbo.

This is one of the reasons people go v6,to get rid of that "lacking" period before boost comes in with the 3s-gte.


I agree with Paul.... Just try my Noble . . 2.5l V6, 330BHP. Each T20 turbo is, in theory, matched to a 1250cc engine so small, light, and next to no lag.... [Twisted Evil]
_________________
Engine Builder to Simon Hicks - 555bhp 532ftlbs
Brighton National Speed Trials Class Winner 2011
Brighton National Speed Trials Class Winner 2010
Brighton National Speed Trials Class Record Holder 2010 on
Back to top
User is offline 
msherry21




Joined: 20 Dec 2004
Posts: 585
Location: Glasgow
Feedback Score: 0

1994 Toyota MR2 Mk2 Turbo Rev3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

What superchargers are people using on the V6 Paul? and what sort of price are we talking?

I need to contact you with regards to fitting a V6 in my MK1, I saw on twobrutal your fully booked till February. Would it be possible to get my car booked in for some magic treatment. Going to the Ring' again in May so trying to get it completed for then.

cheers.

Michael.
Back to top
User is offline 
PW@Woodsport
IMOC Affiliated Company



Joined: 14 Dec 2004
Posts: 7592
Location: durham
Feedback Score: 30



PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

Quote:
Just try my Noble


you heard that folks,peter said i could have a go in his noble,ive got that in writing now [Very Happy]

hi michael,people fit the TRD SC unit thats available for the camry and US solara models, at 5psi alone that will take power up to 280/290bhp without any other mods.Hard to find them though and they cost around 1000 shipped second hand,best place is to trawl the camry owners forums in the states.

I am indeed booked until feb,but if you want pencilling in let me know and i'll discuss it with you off forum matey.
Back to top
User is offline 
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       www.imoc.co.uk Forum Index -> MR2 Engine Swaps All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group