NA to Turbo Conversion, Write Up & Points to Consider. 

Description My briefly written experiences of doing a 3SGE to 3SGTE Conversion.
Author Andy K Date Tue Aug 23, 2005 2:02 pm Type Technical Information

Category Engine
Views 24439
I wrote this a while back, It maybe of use to someone on here, I'm always happy to help anyone with a similar conversion, just pm/call me:

ANDY'S <'1K, REV 3 TURBO CONVERSION

This Conversion was carried out in the Autumn of '03 by myself to my late 1993 (early Rev 3 G-Ltd) NA car. Donor car was a similar age/spec Rev 3 turbo, air con, no abs, etc. The wiring/age/spec similarities between donor and receiver made it a lot easier than expected!
I am not a mechanic, and had not attempted anything like this before.

WHY'
More Power! I'm lucky enough that my MR2 is not my daily driver, I could live with the extra fuel/insurance costs etc, on a limited mileage policy. I was severely limited with the NA engine for future easy tuning options and I've always wanted (should have bought in the first place) a Turbo.
I could have sold and rebought but I've done so much to my car, it had such a low mileage, and was in such a good condition. I couldn't find another suitably priced within my price range.
Then I spotted the advert'.. Rev 3 Turbo rear cut' '750.!!!

ACQUIREMENT
The written off, Rev 3 Turbo hardtop, was roughly the same age as my Rev 3 G-Ltd and had extensive panel damage all round. I set off to the middle of SCOTLAND [Shocked] from NORWICH [Sad] with a borrowed rickety old 6'x4' unbraked trailer to pick up whatever I could fit in. It took best part of a day and a half to complete the acquirement, taking 8 hours to get back from Ayrshire to Norwich at a careful 50mph. ' Nearly drove me crazy!

CARRYING OUT THE CONVERSION